Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone
Revenue Dept. Cautions
Missourians About New
Salvage Titling Law
JEFFERSON CITY – A Senate Bill 82 provision passed by the Missouri legislature changes the state’s salvage title law, and the Missouri Department of Revenue wants to ensure that vehicle purchasers are fully aware of the consequences of the revision.
"Buyers need to be informed about this important change in the law," said Revenue Director Trish Vincent. "That’s what we’re impressing upon Missourians in the market for a pre-owned vehicle. More than ever, it’s important for our customers to know the history of a car they may purchase."
Effective August 28, 2007, Senate Bill 82 changes the definition of "salvage vehicle." Prior to the legislation, a salvage vehicle was defined as a vehicle damaged more than 75 percent of its value. Such a vehicle received a titled branded "salvage". Now, a vehicle must be less than seven years old and damage must exceed 80 percent of its value to require a "salvage" title. This means a newer vehicle with major damage (but not exceeding 80 percent of its value) may receive a clean title. Just as important, a vehicle 7 years or older suffering major or total damage is not required to receive a "salvage" title.
Buyers are encouraged to check the title history of vehicles through private vehicle title history companies.